Weightlifting Room Wall Art

The wall is in the weightlifting room at Benson Gym.  It used to be bare or covered with posters.  Jason Coleman, a teacher and coach  in the Athletics & PE department, felt that it needed a facelift.  He drew up several different artwork for the wall and asked other people for their preference.  An artwork was selected and Jason asked Chester Kuschmider, head baseball coach and assistant football coach to paint the wall. 

Chester Kuschmider, an Art major, painted the wall with pride and love. 



Thank you to Jason Coleman and Chester Kuschmider for making this possible!

MSD Girls Basketball – National Champions

MSD girls basketball team defeated Rockbridge Academy 57-15 last night to capture the MIAC league championship.  It was announced after the game that Deafdigest.com has picked MSD as 2014-15 National Champions.  They finished the season with 26-3 record.
MSD girls broke school record for most wins in a season with 26.  The old record was 25 in 2000-01 (25-1) and 2001-02 (25-3).  Tessa Lewis finished her career with 1,775 points which is school record for most points scored in career.  She scored 677 points this year, another school record for most points scored in a season. 
Congratulations to Amy Mowl, her assistant coaches (Jeff Lewis, Jerry Mabashov, Lindsay Stergio and Jake Bonheyo) and the team for an outstanding season.  


Wrestling Senior Night Ceremony

We honored our wrestling seniors wrestler and manager on February 10th. 



Senior Night Ceremony

We honored our winter season senior athletes and managers. Three of athletes/manager (Julio “Tres” Diaz III, Billy Millios & Chaz Seremeth) missed this event as they were at the academic bowl retreat. 

BaileyBriCarrollChazGiovanniJake BJakeLamontMarikaMoniqueTarikTessa

ESDAA Result- Boys Basketball & Cheer

Congratulations to both boys basketball and cheerleading teams for winning first place at the ESDAA tournament last weekend.  It was boys’ 13th straight title.  




Please see below for more results. 

ESDAA Basketball Division I Final Results
Champion – Maryland
2nd place – Fanwood
3rd place – The Learning Center 
4th place – Lexington
5th place – Western Pennsylvania
6th place – New Jersey

Semifinals –  MSD 69  The Learning Center 15
Championship game – MSD 72 Fanwood 21

Team Cheerleading Results
First Place (423 points) – Maryland
Second Place (416 points) – Lexington
Third Place (388 points) – Fanwood

Skills Competitions
Team Lay-up – MSD
Team Free Throws – MSD
Team “21″ – MSD
Hot Shot – LEX, Samer Abualya
Knock-out – LEX, Samer Abualya
Coaches’ Knockout – MSD, Jason Coleman
Managers’ Challenge – TLC, Iromilison “Ro” Centeio

Individual Cheer – MSD, Marika Lewis
Individual Jump – MSD, Billy Millios
Creative Movement – Lexington

Basketball:  Joe Giordano Sportsmanship Award:  New Jersey
Cheer:  Spirit Award:  Fanwood

All Tournament Team
MSD – Damon Biskupiak
MSD – Yave Sanchez
MSD – Tarik Wallace
NYSD – Carlos Vega
NYSD – Agron Deski
NYSD – Owen Banton
TLC – Dylan Christoftels
TLC – James Knoll
LEX – Samer Abualya
LEX – Timar Harris
WPSD – Travis Frye
WPSD – Seth Reeves
NJSD – Cory Jenkins

Championship Game MVP 
Damon Biskupiak (MSD)

Cheer All Tournament Team
MSD- Billy  Millios
WPSD – Jessica Helms
MSD – Marika Lewis
NYSD – Victoria Pons
MNM – Sabrina Russell
WPSD – Megan Majocha
LEX – Elsi Mazariegos
PSD – Briona Hayes


12th Tri-State Basketball Tournament @ Columbia Campus

For more information on basketball tournament hosted by Columbia Campus: 12th Tri State Flyer

WUSA9 Channel Featuring Tessa Lewis’ Milestone – Feb 20th

Tessa Lewis will be featured on WUSA9 this Friday (February 20) at 5:50pm. This segment will cover Tessa‘s milestone of breaking school’s 63 years old record for most points scored in career and the ceremony honoring Tessa including Donald Leitch’s family. Be sure to spread the word and do not miss it!

SportsMX/NDIAA Athletes of the Month


SportsMX and NDIAA are proud to announce the January 2015 recipients of “SportsMX/NDIAA Athletes of the Month” awards. The purpose of this the award is to recognize High School athletes across the country who have made significant impact on their teams not just on the field/court but in academics, leadership, and character as well.

Our young Deaf athletes deserve recognition for their dedication and hard work. SportsMX and NDIAA congratulate Emelia Beldon (Minnesota), Dillon Maynard (Kentucky), Seth Hazelett (Fremont), and Andrew Todd (Indiana) on their selection to the “SportsMX/NDIAA Athletes of the Month” for January 2015.

Regardless whether the recognized athletes are from your school or not, we hope that you will share this announcement with your school, athletes, parents, and community by sharing the link below and posting the attached PDF copy in your gym/public areas to spread awareness and recognition for this award.




SportsMX HS Sports 
Deaf Sports. That’s Us. 

Amy Mowl’s 100th Win Recognition Ceremony

Athletics Department and Superintendent James E. Tucker recognized Amy Mowl for her 100th win as high school girls basketball coach. Congratulations, Amy Mowl! 



Amy Mowl’s 100th Win

New Flash!

Coach Amy Mowl notched her 100th win as MSD’s coach in last Friday’s game against Model Secondary School for the Deaf (MSSD).  The final score was 61-16.  It took Amy only five seasons to reach this milestone!  Congratulations, Amy!

amy 100th win
On our next home game on Thursday, February 12th against New Life Christian School, we will recognize her achievement before the game at 6pm.  Please come and congratulate her!
Go to Top